Press room

Archived press releases
Journalist FAQs
Journalist questions about fitness to practise hearings

Market research
Social media
Position statements
HCPC blog
Mobile apps
Fitness to practise media
Market research
Home > Media and Events > Press room

HPC re-elects Council President


HPC President unanimously re-elected

The Health Professions Council (HPC) is pleased to announce the re-appointment of Anna Van der Gaag as Council President. Anna was unanimously re-elected by Council on the11 September 2008 having served as President for over two years.

Anna was first appointed as President in July 2006 and was also recently re-elected as HPC’s registrant speech and language therapist Council Member in July this year.

Anna van der Gaag is a self employed consultant and Honorary Research Fellow in the Faculty of Medicine, University of Glasgow. She has been actively involved in research and development initiatives in speech and language therapy for more than two decades. Her current research work includes user involvement in decision making, e-learning in post graduate education and improving communication between primary care practitioners and people with communication disabilities. Anna has been a member of various advisory groups for the Medical Research Council, Department of Health, Kings Fund and the Royal College of Speech and Language Therapists.

HPC president, Anna van der Gaag commented:

"I am very honoured to have been re-elected as President of HPC and hope that

I can continue to serve the Council during this period of change. The HPC

continues to welcome new challenges and I look forward to working with

colleagues on the Council to continually improve our services and work with

the professions to maintain high standards of good professional practice."

The Council is responsible for developing strategies and policies. It consists of 26 members: one member from each of the professions, (plus 13 alternate members), 13 lay members, and a president. The current president is an HPC registrant.


Notes to editors:

1. For further information about elections and the Council please contact Niamh O’Sullivan, Secretary to the Council, on 020 7840 9711 or email

2. If you wish to receive a picture or biography details about Anna van der gaag please contact Ebony Gayle, Communications Manager on 020 7840 9784 or email

3. For further information about the Council and for Council member full biographies please see:

4. The Health Professions Council is an independent, UK-wide health regulator set up by the Health Professions Order (2001). The HPC keeps a register for thirteen different health professions and only registers people who meet the standards it sets for their training, professional skills, behaviour and health. The HPC will take action against people who do not meet these standards or who use a protected title illegally.

5. HPC currently regulates the following thirteen professions. Each of these professions has one or more ‘protected titles’. Anyone who uses one of these titles must register with the HPC. To see the full list of protected titles please see:

· Arts therapists

· Biomedical scientists

· Chiropodists and podiatrists

· Clinical scientists

· Dietitians

· Occupational therapists

· Operating department practitioners

· Orthoptists

· Paramedics

· Physiotherapists

· Prosthetists and orthotists

· Radiographers

· Speech and language therapists






Ebony Gayle
020 7840 9784

Print  Print page