unconfirmed

THE HEALTH PROFESSIONS COUNCIL

Chief Executive and Registrar: Mr Marc Seale

Park House

184 Kennington Park Road

London SE11 4BU

Telephone: +44 (0)20 7840 9711

Fax: +44 (0)20 7840 9807

e-mail: niamh.osullivan@hpc-uk.org

MINUTES of the thirty-third meeting of the Health Professions Council held at **10.30 a.m. on Tuesday 11 July 2006** at Park House, 184 Kennington Park Road, London, SE11 4BU.

PRESENT: Dr A van der Gaag (President)

Mr P Acres Mr J Camp

Mrs M Clark-Glass

Mr R Clegg
Ms H Davis
Mr M Davies
Miss E Ellis
Ms C Farrell
Dr C H Green
Professor T Hazell
Professor J Lucas

Miss M MacKellar

Mr K Ross Mrs B Stuart Mr S Taylor Miss E Thornton Mrs A Turner

Professor D Waller

IN ATTENDANCE:

Mr J Bracken, HPC Solicitor and Parliamentary Agent

Miss L Foster, Human Resources Director

Ms Yasmin Hussain, Partner Manager (part)

Miss K Johnson, Director, Fitness to Practise

Ms V Nash, Acting Communications Director

Ms N O'Sullivan, Secretary to Council

Mr G Ross-Sampson, Director of Operations

Ms R Tripp, Acting Director of Policy and Standards

Mr M Seale, Chief Executive and Registrar

Item 1.06/134 INTRODUCTION AND WELCOME

- 1.1 The Vice President chaired the meeting pending the election of the President.
- 1.2 Mr Camp welcomed Miss Ellis (Radiographer member) to her first meeting of Council.

Item 2.06/135 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

2.1 Apologies for absence were received from the following Council members; Mrs S Chaudhry, Mrs S Drayton, Professor J Harper, Mr W Munro (and alternate Mr O Altay), Miss P Sabine, Mr Pat McFadden

Item 3.06/136 APPROVAL OF AGENDA

3.1 The Council approved the agenda.

Item 4.06/137 ELECTION OF THE PRESIDENT

- 4.1 The Council received a paper from the Executive for discussion/approval.
- 4.2 In accordance with the process which had been agreed by Council the Registrar chaired the meeting for this item.
- 4.3 The Registrar detailed the nominations as listed in the ballot paper distributed to Council as part of the Council papers which were as follows, Mr Robert Clegg and Dr Anna van der Gaag.
- 4.4 Before the ballot was conducted each candidate gave a five minute presentation to Council.
- 4.5 A secret ballot was conducted among the members present. The Secretary included the postal votes which had been received prior to the meeting in the count.
- 4.6 The Council agreed to take a short recess while the votes were being counted.
- 4.7 Following the conclusion of the count at which both candidates, the HPC Solicitor and Parliamentary Agent, the Secretary to Council and the Secretariat Team Administrator were present, the Secretary to Council handed a note of the outcome to the Registrar.
- 4.8 The Registrar informed the meeting that Dr Anna van der Gaag had been elected President.
- 4.9 Dr van der Gaag noted her thanks to Mr Clegg and to the Council for their support and was delighted to have been elected as President

4.10 The Council agreed to take a further brief recess in order that the new President should be briefed regarding the agenda.

Item 5.06/138 APPOINTMENT FO COUNCIL MEMBERS TO COMMITTEES

5.1 The Council received a paper from the Executive for discussion/approval.

5.2 The Council agreed the following recommendations as set out in the paper;

Re-appointments

Christine Farrell Communications Committee (until 8 July 2007)

Education and Training Committee (until 8 July 2007)

Investigating Committee (until 8 July 2008)

Jeff Lucas Approvals Committee (until 8 July 2007)

Education and Training Committee (until 8 July 2007)

Annie Turner Approvals Committee (until 8 July 2007)

Health Committee (until 8 July 2008)

New Appointments

Elizabeth Ellis* Education and Training Committee (in place of Gail

Darwent – Registrant Radiography member) – (until 8 July

2007)

Sue Griffiths Approvals Committee (in place of Fiona Taylor – Alternate

Radiography member) - (until 8 July 2007)

Physiotherapy

(Vacancy) Finance and Resources Committee (in place of Robert Jones –

Registrant Physiotherapy member) - (until 8 July 2007)

5.3 The Council noted that the final decision regarding the appointment of Miss Ellis to the Education and Training Committee would be taken by the President following consideration of a statement explaining how she (Miss Ellis) met the qualification and experience requirement for the Committee.

- The Council agreed to a request from Professor Lucas that he could resign from the Approvals Committee with immediate effect.
- 5.5 The Council noted that the reallocation of members of the Registration Committee to other committees would be undertaken shortly by the President.

Action: AVDG/NO'S

Item 6.06/139 COUNCIL NOMINATION TO THE COUNCIL FOR HEALTHCARE REGULATORY EXCELLENCE

- 6.1 The Council received a paper from the Executive for discussion/approval.
- 6.2 The Council agreed to nominate the President, Dr van der Gaag, to the Council for Healthcare Regulatory Excellence.

Action: MJS - 12 July 2006

Item 7.06/140 AMENDMENT TO AUDIT COMMITTEE STANDING ORDERS

- 7.1 The Council received a paper from the Executive for discussion/approval.
- 7.2 The Council agreed the revised Standing Orders subject to a further amendment to Standing Order 42 that the Registrar would attend the meeting at the invitation of the Committee.

Item 8.06/141 MINUTES OF THE FINANCE AND RESOURCES COMMITTEE HELD ON 22 JUNE 2006

8.1 The Council received the minutes of the Finance and Resources Committee held on 22 June 2006.

Item 9.06/142 THE HEALTH PROFESSIONS COUNCIL ELECTIONS 2006

- 9.1 The Council received a paper from the Executive for discussion/approval.
- 9.2 The Council noted the decision to re-run the elections for the physiotherapy part of the HPC register, taken at 6 July Council meeting, The Health Professions Council (Election Scheme) Rules 2004 required the Council to approve the results of the election.
- 9.3 The Council agreed to approve the results of the election electronically.
- 9.4 The Council noted the draft timetable for the re-run of the election.
- 9.5 The Council noted that Electoral Reform Services had been asked to produce a report on the 2006 elections and that discussions were ongoing regarding procedures to be used during the re-run.

Item 32.06/143 ANY OTHER BUSINESS

Dept/Cmte

- 10.1 The Council noted that there were two items of additional business and that two papers had been tabled.
- 10.2 The Council received a paper entitled 'Process for the Appointment of Additional Members to Council if the Person Elected as President is a Registrant' for discussion/approval.

- 10.3 The Council agreed that the Privy Council should be asked to appoint an additional registrant member and an additional lay member to the Council. The process for the appointment of the additional lay member would be carried out by the NHS Appointments Commission.
- 10.4 The Council noted that clarification should be sought from the Privy Council regarding the process it would use for the appointment of an additional registrant member to Council. The Council also noted that the Privy Council should be informed that not all HPC registrants were members of a professional body
- 10.4 The Council received a paper entitled 'Votes by Post' for note.
- 10.5 The Council noted that the following members had voted by post in the election of the President.

Mrs S Chaudhry

Mrs S Drayton

Professor J Harper

Mr P McFadden

Mr W Munro

Miss P Sabine

Item 11.06/144 DATE AND TIME OF NEXT MEETING

- 11.1 The next meeting of the Council would be at 10.30 a.m. on Tuesday 12 September 2006
- 11.2 Further meetings would be held on the following dates;

As of 11 July 2006, all Council meetings would start at 10.30am.

Wednesday 4 October and Thursday 5 October 2006 Council meeting and 'away day'

Thursday 14 December 2006

Thursday 29 March 2007

Thursday 31 May 2007

Thursday 5 July 2007 – Council meeting

PRESIDENT:

DATE:

