Unconfirmed

THE HEALTH PROFESSIONS COUNCIL

Chief Executive and Registrar: Mr Marc Seale

Park House

184 Kennington Park Road

London SE11 4BU

Telephone: +44 (0)20 7840 9785

Fax: +44 (0)20 7840 9807

e-mail: sophie.butcher@hpc-uk.org

MINUTES of the twenty fourth meeting of the Health Professions Council held at **11a.m.** on **Thursday 26 May 2005** at Park House, 184 Kennington Park Road, London, SE11 4BU.

Professor N Brook (President)

Mr J Camp

Mrs S Chaudhry

Mrs M Clark-Glass

Professor T Hazell

Dr R Jones

Mr C Lea

Ms R Levenson

Mr A Mount

Miss G Pearson

Mr K Ross

Miss P Sabine

Dr A Van Der Gaag

Mr N Willis

Mr D Whitmore

Dr S Yule

IN ATTENDANCE:

Mr J Bracken, Solicitor and Parliamentary Agent, Bircham, Dyson, Bell

Miss S Butcher, Secretary to Committees

Mr S Corbishley, Director Financial Audit (National Audit Office)

Ms H Green, Bircham Dyson Bell

Ms C Martin, Bircham Dyson Bell

Mr A McWhirter, Interim Finance Director

Mr M Seale, Chief Executive and Registrar

Item 1.04/284 INTRODUCTION AND WELCOME

1.1 Professor Brook welcomed all members and non-members to the meeting. The following non-members were present:

Item 2.05/285 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

2.1 Apologies for absence were received from the following Council members; Mr R Clegg, Ms C Farrell, Mr J Harper, Mr J Lucas, Ms J Manning (Mr D Whitmore in attendance), Mr W Munro (Mr I Massey), Mrs J Stark, Mrs B Stuart, Professor D Waller (Mr M Barham), Mr S Wordsworth (Mr A Mount in attendance).

Item 3.05/286 APPROVAL OF AGENDA

3.1 The Council approved the agenda.

Item 4.05/287 MINUTES

- 4.1 The Council noted that as this was a Special meeting of Council that had been called to discuss matters of urgency, the minutes of its last meeting on 12th May 2005 would instead be discussed/approved at its next meeting on 7th July 2005. Therefore there were no matters arising.
- 4.2 Mrs M Clark-Glass reported that her name had been omitted from the attendance listed for the 2 March 2005 minutes and confirmed that as she had attended that her name be included.

Action: SB

4.3 Mr J Camp reported that as the meeting had been called for a special purpose to discuss matters for urgent attention by Council it was agreed that items 5 and 6 of the public agenda be deferred to the next meeting of Council on 7th July 2005. Council approved Mr J Camp's recommendation as it was agreed that these items were routine matters that did not warrant discussion now.

Item5.05/288 RETURNING OFFICER PRESENTS CERTIFICATE FOR HPC ELECTIONS AND APPROVAL OF MEMBERS' TO COUNCIL

- 5.1 The Council received a paper for approval/discussion from the Chief Executive.
- 5.2 The Chief Executive as Returning Officer for the elections held on 20th May 2005, HEREBY CERTIFIED, that in accordance with Rule 11(4) of the HPC (Election Scheme) Rules 2004 ('the Election Rules'), that:

 Date
 Ver.
 Dept/Cmte
 Doc Type
 Title
 Status
 Int. Aud.

 2005-05-31
 a
 CNL
 MIN
 Special Meeting of Council 26 May
 Draft
 Public

- 1. The number of votes received by each candidate at those elections and the total number of votes cast in each election were as (attached):
- 2. The candidates whose names appear first on the list of candidates for each vacancy have each been elected as a registrant member or alternate member of the Council.
- 5.3 The Chief Executive as Returning Officer FURTHER CERTIFIED that a Council comprising the persons named above who have been elected as registrant members and alternate members would meet the home country representation requirement in paragraph 2 (2) (c) of Schedule 1 to the Health Professions Order 2001.
- 5.4 The Council ratified the persons elected to Council as of 20th May 2005.
- 5.5 The Chief Executive reported that the declaration of persons elected to Council would be released on the HPC website as of 2:30pm 3:30pm that afternoon. In addition HPC employees would communicate the results to all those persons that stood in the election via telephone and email so to ensure the swift dissemination of information to all candidates. The Council noted that all members elected to Council were formally appointed as of the 9th July 2005.

Item 6.05/289 HPC PRACTICE COMMITTEES AND REGISTRATION AMENDMENT RULES ORDER OF COUNCIL 2005

- 6.1 The Council received a paper for approval/discussion from the Chief Executive. The Chief Executive reported that this was not a paper to note as listed on the agenda but rather a paper for discussion/approval.
- 6.2 The Council noted that there were previously five different sets of Rules relating to Registration. These had now been made into one single set and constructed as such so that when parliament needed to make changes it was easier to manage them. The Council noted that a time period of 14 days had previously been set for the return of the CPD document to HPC, however following feedback that this was too short a time in which to submit the information required the time period had been extended to 21 days instead. The Rules used to be approved by Parliament but the actual form was now left for Council to determine.
- 6.3 The Council ratified the HPC Practice Committees and Registration Amendment Rules Order of Council 2005.

Item 7.05/290 RE-APPOINTMENT OF LAY MEMBERS

- 7.1 The Council received a paper from the Chief Executive for note.
- 7.2 The Council noted that as of the 20th May 2005 the NHS Appointments Commission agreed to re-appoint (those lay members as detailed below) to the Health Professions Council. The re-appointments were subject to any statutory changes that may take place in future to the composition of the Council.

Re-appointment for one year, from 9th July 2005 to 8th July 2006 Ms Christine Farrell Ms Ros Levenson Professor Jeff Lucas

Re-appointment for two years, from 9th July 2005 to 8th July 2007 Mrs Shaheen Chaudhry Mr Robert Clegg Professor Tony Hazell

Re-appointment for three years, from 9th July 2005 to 8th July 2008 Mr John Camp Professor John Harper Mrs Barbara Stuart

Re-appointment for four years, from 9th July 2005 to 8th July 2009 Mrs Mary Clark-Glass Mr Keith Ross

7.3 The Council noted that Mrs Jackie Stark had formally resigned from her position as lay member and Mr Colin Lea had decided not to stand again. Mrs Sheila Drayton had been appointed by the NHS Appointments Commission to replace Jackie Stark and another member was currently being sought to replace Colin Lea on Council.

Item 8.05/291 ANY OTHER BUSINESS

8.1 There was no other business.

Item 9.05/292 DATE AND TIME OF NEXT MEETING

9.1 The next meeting of the Council would be at 11:00am on Thursday 7 July 2005.

PRESIDENT:

DATE:

DateVer.Dept/CmteDoc TypeTitleStatusInt. Aud.2005-05-31aCNLMINSpecial Meeting of Council 26 May
2005Draft
DD: NonePublic
RD: None

ERROR: undefinedfilename OFFENDING COMMAND: c

STACK: