Health and disability
Medicines and Prescribing

Changes in medicines legislation for orthoptists
Medicines exemptions for chiropodists and podiatrists
Medicines exemptions for paramedics

Protected titles
Regulation of further groups
The Register
Other regulators
Vetting and barring
Visiting European health or social work professionals
Social work regulation in England
The Health and Care Professions Tribunal Service
Home > About regulation > Medicines and Prescribing > Medicines exemptions for paramedics

Medicines exemptions for paramedics

The prescription only medicines that registered paramedics are able to administer for the immediate, necessary treatment of sick or injured persons are set out in Schedule 17 to the Human Medicines Regulations 2012.

The list is reproduced below for ease of reference. The first column explains the scope of the exemption. The second column lists the prescription only medicines included in the exemption. See here for information about exemptions.


Prescription only medicines in the exemption list

A paramedic registered with the HCPC is able to administer by injection the prescription only medicines listed in the next column.

The administration shall be only for the immediate, necessary treatment or sick or injured persons and in the case of prescription only medicine containing Heparin Sodium shall be only for the purpose of cannula flushing.

The following prescription only medicines for parenteral administration:

1) Diazepam 5 mg per ml emulsion for injection

2) Succinylated Modified Fluid Gelatin 4 per cent intravenous infusion

3) Medicines containing the substance Ergometrine Maleate 500 mcg per ml with Oxytocin 5 iu per ml, but no other active ingredient

4) Prescription only medicines containing one or more of the following substances, but no other active ingredient:

5) Adrenaline Acid Tartrate

6) Adrenaline hydrochloride

7) Amiodarone

8) Anhydrous glucose

9) Benzylpenicillin

10) Compound Sodium Lactate Intravenous Infusion (Hartmann’s Solution)

11) Ergometrine Maleate

12) Furosemide

13) Glucose

14) Heparin Sodium

15) Lidocaine Hydrochloride

16) Metoclopramide

17) Morphine Sulphate

18) Nalbuphine Hydrochloride

19) Naloxone Hydrochloride

20) Ondansetron

21) Paracetamol

22) Reteplase

23) Sodium Chloride

24) Streptokinase

25) Tenecteplase

This list will be kept up to date should legislation change. Queries about the prescription only medicines included in the exemption lists or the legislation should be directed to the Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency (MHRA).

Print  Print page